Chairman Bryant Nominates Supreme Court Bench


The Inquirer
Monrovia, Liberia

Distributed by

The Perspective
Atlanta, Georgia

Posted November 13, 2003

The Chairman of the National Transitional Government of Liberia (NTGL), Gyude Bryant has nominated the Chief Justice and Associate Justices of the Supreme Court of Liberia

An Executive Mansion statement issued on Friday, said the NTGL Chairman nominated Cllr.
Henry Reed Cooper as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

The statement said those named or nominated by the NTGL Chairman as Associated Justices are Cllrs. Francis S. Korkpor, John L. Greaves, Ishmael Campbell and Felecia V. Coleman.

The Executive Mansion’s statement said those nominated to the Supreme Court were drawn from a short-list of legal practitioners submitted to the office of the NTGL Chairman by the National Bar Association of Liberia in conjunction with the Female Lawyers Association (AFELL).

The statement said the names of the nominees have been submitted to the Transitional Legislative Assembly (NTLA) for confirmation hearing.

If confirmed by the NTLA, the nominees will succeed the Supreme Court Bench headed by Cllr. Gloria Musu Scott.

Under the Accra peace agreement, the Supreme Court Bench that was serving under the former GOL had to be dissolved and replaced by a new Supreme Court bench under the NTGL.

© 2003: This article is copyrighted by The Inquirer newspaper (Monrovia, Liberia) and distributed by The Perspective (Atlanta, Georgia). All rights reserved.